Posted by: adamha88 | March 25, 2010

Game reviews


So this is the idea: This blog post will be updated as I progress with a hobby of mine, gaming. The aim of the post is to let you all know what games I have recently played and my opinion on them. Games I’m playing through and my current thoughts on them. And finally two lists, the first a list of games I’m looking to get in the near future and secondly an eagerly anticipated list.

Recently played:

Dragon Age: Origins, Overall 9 / 10. This is a truly fantastic game, the character relations are like no other game. A definite purchase for any RPG fan.

God of war collection, 8.5 / 10. A remake of the ps2 classics onto ps3. The word “enormous”, doesn’t do these games justice.

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, 9.5 / 10. This game has everything. A fanatic story, brilliant graphics, good humor and most importantly great game play. Possibly one of the best games I have played to date.

Batman Arkham Asylum, 9 / 10. What a pleasant surprise, I bought this game thinking it would be good. But I was taken back by the sheer brilliance.

Currently playing:

Demon’s souls (PS3).

This was voted GOTY by Gamespot. Do I agree? As far as I can make out I’m currently over halfway through my first play through and while I will agree it fantastic, I wouldn’t go as far to say its GOTY 2009. It does possess extremely hard game play, which keeps you on the edge of your seat even at the most mundane times. I love the fact that if you die you, are severely punished in this game. It makes you think about every action, plan every step and pray for that little bit of luck. Overall I would currently put Demon’s Souls at 8 / 10, not higher mainly due to it’s story line, or lack of. However it can easily rise to 9.5 and I hope it does.

Final Fantasy 13 (PS3).

It’s been a long wait, but it’s here. I started this game today. I’m currently approximately three hours into it. So I can’t really give an accurate in site. But that isn’t going to stop me. It has great graphics, sound effects, voice acting and many other things you would expect for a Final Fantasy game. However they appear to have taken out a leveling system, I’m currently praying one is introduced later in the game. Otherwise every little tedious battle is for nothing. Another thing that is strange is I’m only currently controlling one member from a party, instead of previous games where you take control of the entire group, will this change? I hope so. The final thing worthy of a mention is they have taken out the turn based system, you can now heal or use other items at will, regardless of weather it’s your turn. Currently I’m slightly disappointed with a few things, but there is about 55 more hours for Final Fantasy to impress. Currently I would give it a 7 / 10, but this could end up ranging from a 6 – 9.5 / 10.

Resistance 2 (PS3)

I bought this game after reading some good reviews online, however I wouldn’t recommend it to anybody. It may have been a good game upon release, but in 2010 it’s clearly outdated in almost every department. If its a cheap Ps3 shooter your after, look no further than Killzone 2. Currently I would give it 5/10.

To do list:                                                       Eagerly anticipated titles:

Assassins creed 2 (PS3)                                   Dead Space 2 (Ps3)

Bioshock 2 (PS3)                                             Fable 3 (Xbox 360)

Gran Turismo 5 (PS3)                                      Metal gear solid 5 (PS3)

God of war 3 (PS3)                                          The Last Guardian, Team ICO! (PS3)

Just Cause 2 (PS3)

Splinter Cell Conviction (Xbox 360)

Responses

  1. Assassins Creed 2 I definitely want to play. And I wish Microsoft didn’t have exclusivity on Splinter Cell Conviction, looks like I’ll have to download it for PC 🙂

  2. God Of War 3 is the best game I have ever played. The graphics are amazing, the game play hasn’t changed from the previous versions and its really bloody. I just hope it isn’t too short as there is no multiplayer.


Leave a Reply

Categories

